Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie on this forum, and although I have owned my stock '03 Rubicon since 2007, I am a total virgin when it comes to messing with it.

I do mostly city driving and find the 4.0 to be sluggish and a gas hog (10 mpg). I would like to move up a step to a V6 or small V8. I've gone online and read about various engine swaps but would like the opinion of the people here.

i would like to keep the same transmission (manual, 5 speed), xfer case and drive shaft, but maybe do away with the 4.10 rear end. i would prefer a swap where a kit exists for all necessary adapters (engine mounts and so forth). i don''t care about off road ability as that's not something I do.

i would appreciate any suggestions regarding suitable engines, drive trains and kits, online sources or any other information would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Peter

·
Registered
979 Posts
Is it on stock tires still? the 4.0 in stock form should have ok power with stock tires and stock gearing. Also it should get considerably better milage than 10 mpg in stock form

·
Registered
76 Posts
He says its a Rubi so one size bigger tire and 4.10 gears IIRC. I agree sounds like something else is wrong. Even the 4 cyl with its stock tires is ok for power.

·
Registered
979 Posts
He says its a Rubi so one size bigger tire and 4.10 gears IIRC. I agree sounds like something else is wrong. Even the 4 cyl with its stock tires is ok for power.
I am well aware that a stock Rubi has 31" tires.
That doesn't mean this one is bone stock, is why I asked big tires and 4.10 gears would kind of explain what is going on

·
Premium Member
6,657 Posts
It definitely sounds like something else is wrong. I never had any power issues with 4.2 or my 4.0 and I was on 3.07 and 3.55 gears and 33's. I got mid teens in my 4.0 but in my 4.2 I was lucky to get 10 mpg but that was carbed and if I got it tuned for mileage it sucked everywhere else.

·