Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I noticed that my trans is harder to shift lately, the clutch seems fine? The most notable is downshifting although sometimes but not all the time 1st to 2nd? Is my clutch wore more than I think it is or is it something in my trans?
Jim

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Jeep specs

1997 TJ, 4.0, AX-15 transmission, Hurst Shifter, 4"lift, 33/12.50/15, Dana 30,Dana 44, 3:73 Pos-Lok, warn winch, warn bumpers, warn body guards, warn fog lights, 64,000 miles, cb, gps, marine stereo, hi-lift jack, 6 qts of Valvoline, fram filter with magnet,stock air box with K&N filter, Valvoline products in the Diffs,trans,TC and all in all I am happy with the gas mileage.
Is that helpful?

·
Lazy Slacker
10,453 Posts
Clashing or just stiff? (no you perverts not that stiff)

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
TJ fishing specs

I used to be a Super Master Mechanic, key words, used to be. Now I am as slow as a turtle in a coma. That being said my thing was driveablity and light line. My thinking is either the clutch is well worn but still works or the transmission syncros or bad. If the shifting forks were bent or some how damage it would have the problem all the time. I don't pretend too know everything, heck when I knew everything I still didnt no jack! So I thought I post this because I couldn't hold some of these members water when it comes to common Jeep problems.
I bought this Jeep about two months ago and this is my only complaint.
Jim Stark

·
Lazy Slacker
10,453 Posts
When does it seam more prone to act up? Cold, hot, initial start??

·
Lazy Slacker
10,453 Posts
Does sound like clutch disk might be going.. Have you done anything with your gear oil???

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Gear oil

No Sir,