Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A couple weeks ago I got my first jeep. It's a 94 wrangler and doesn't seem to have many modifications / aftermarket stuff. Daily driver for an older dude before I got it... But I can't figure out what this thing attached to the shifter is! I have been told: manual choke, splitter, hi/lo switch, locker, and something that would "enable reverse". I do not use it but I know it's hooked up because when I pull it up and am in neutral the engine makes a revving noise. IM A GIRL. I work on cars but I'm no mechanic! Hellllppp

Attachments

·
Lazy Slacker
10,453 Posts
It could be any of those.. Lol.

I doubt it will be a reverse lockout, if it was you wouldn't be able to engage reverse with out using it.
It could be a locker but doubt because of motor noise.

I'm going to assume choke.. Check under jeep and see if you can fallow the cable. If it add ataches to linkage on the carberator it's a choke.. If it runs to a differential it's a locker.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
08Rescue said:
It could be any of those.. Lol.

I doubt it will be a reverse lockout, if it was you wouldn't be able to engage reverse with out using it.
It could be a locker but doubt because of motor noise.

I'm going to assume choke.. Check under jeep and see if you can fallow the cable. If it add ataches to linkage on the carberator it's a choke.. If it runs to a differential it's a locker.
I don't have a carburetor and when I looked under before I couldn't find it but I'll look again. I'm new at this :p

·
Registered
9,160 Posts
It's a hand throttle. You can use it to set your rpm higher when using a winch. Or set it when wheeling so you can use both feet for clutch and brake on the trails.

Do NOT use it as a cruise control.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
seadog said: