Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am a newbie here. We have a new Jeep Wrangler, 2014 model, which we purchased from new out here in Abu Dhabi, UAE, at the end of October. It now has about 4400km on it. It has been in an out of the garage under warranty for vibration juddering. This is not a wheel vibration, it is like someone is shoving you forwards and back in the car. It happens at 54 / 64 / 70 / 98 kmh. Which is around 1500 to 2000 rpm. The car is an automatic, Sahara 5 door wrangler. No lifts, standard UAE tyres.
Garage has checked prop shafts, wheels, shock absorbers and is now running out of options. I'm considering returning the vehicle.
Any ideas would be appreciated.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Sounds like you have "Death Wobble"

I'm visiting the Forum looking for information on the so-called "death wobble" many Jeep owners have reported. It happened to me last week as I attempted to exit an interstate. The shuddering was so bad I couldn't control my 2010 JK, but finally managed to get it stopped going straight ahead just before it could pitch over a steep embankment. I was only a few blocks away from a Jeep specialty store where a year ago I had a full suspension upgrade (shocks, springs, geometry correction brackets and a steering stabilizer) installed. They checked everything out and found a few loose suspension components and a shot steering stabilizer.